TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 18-Sep-2014, 6:26 PM   #1
amcjeep

Noob From CT

Yeah basically same question as every other post in this thread.

What is my best course of action to obtain the best reception? I am a complete newbie to all of this stuff. My analysis is as follows
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...d24382b8b0db9a

I spoke to a tech online at antennas direct and they suggested I go with a Clearstream v2 antenna and I should not need a pre-amp or anything. Would this be my best option?

I plan on roof mounting it, my house is at the highest point in the surrounding area, but it is surrounded by trees. (when I was looking at solar panels they suggest about 10 trees come down for optimal sun).

Thanks for the help
-Paul

Last edited by amcjeep; 18-Sep-2014 at 6:27 PM. Reason: pre-amp
amcjeep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2014, 6:32 PM   #2
toy71camaro

What channels are you most concerned with receiving? I think that's going to be one of the question the smarter guys are going to need to know (I'm a noob myself). Just looking at your report, they seem to be some what spread about.
toy71camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-Sep-2014, 6:41 PM   #3
amcjeep

Ahh see, I am not even sure if that appears to be a spread out report? Others I have seen tend to have channel options in all directions. I seem to have mine concentrated mostly towards the east.

But Ideally I would like to receive NBC, CBS, PBS and FOX
Old 18-Sep-2014, 8:28 PM   #4
tomfoolery

All but two of your stations are UHF, and one of those two (WTNH on real 10) is ABC, but so is WGGB on real 40. The other (WWLP on real 11) is NBC, but so is WVIT on real 35. So I would go for the DB8e, and aim the panels about 90 degrees apart, or a little less, depending on how they all come in. If real 10 is wanted, a Y10713 could be added to the same mast just for that station, and combined with a UVSJ.