TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 27-Feb-2020, 1:10 PM   #1
tv4jt
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Moving to the country

Moving to a rural area and was wondering if I will be able to receive any signal.
I have an Antennacraft Y10713 and an Antennas Direct DB4e that I should be able to put up at 30'. Also have a RCA TVPRAMP1R preamplifier.

report: http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9038b03840c4fe

Any chance of this working? Where should the antennas be aimed for best results? Thanks for the help.
tv4jt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Feb-2020, 7:07 PM   #2
jrgagne99
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 229
Unfortunately, it looks like you'd better call the cable company. Try the rabbitears.info query first, but it's not looking good.
jrgagne99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Feb-2020, 1:41 AM   #3
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 258
Here's the link to get your RabbitEars report. Their data is much more up to date.
https://www.rabbitears.info/searchmap.php
__________________
Antennacraft Y10-7-13 VHF, Antennas Direct 91XG UHF
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Feb-2020, 4:21 AM   #4
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,773
Estimating you location based on the TVFR you posted, I took a look at the rabbitears.info data in the vicinity of Shooting Creek / Route 64 (In the Nantahala National Forest).

This study; https://rabbitears.info/searchmap.ph...study_id=64706 was based on theoretical access to a ridge top location after confirming very poor signal conditions down in the valley. As you can see in the report, it would only be reasonable to expect access to one or two PBS transmitters. Even if you have access to a ridge top for installation of an antenna, you then would face the challenge of relaying that signal to your desired viewing location. This is theoretically possible but I've yet to meet anyone who has put that much effort and money into such an endeavor.

https://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=1286
https://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=16637
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-Mar-2020, 12:09 PM   #5
Esteban
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 42
I know that area well & it will be very hard to get local reception !
Esteban is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 8:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC