TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-Jan-2016, 3:55 PM   #1
HoosierDaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
NW Indiana/ Chicagoland antenna findings.

I am just south of Valparaiso, In.
I'm mainly posting this for others in the area to have a reference of some sort if they are looking to cut the cable like I just did.
Saving $80 a month now. It will basically pay for itself in a month.
Of course, I welcome any further discussion.

I bought a Clearstream 2V from BestBuy , figuring I could return if it didn't work.
I see no need for that now. The antenna, only 10' above ground , in the house(temporarily), ROCKS!
I think I get all the Chicago stations listed , the main ones, ABC, NBC, CBS, WGN, etc are at 92% or better on the TV's signal meter.

Hopefully, eave or attic mounting the antenna right at the peak(35' approx.) will work just as well as it currently does mounted to the fireplace mantel right next to the TV (temporarily, 10'AGL).
Approx. 10' AGL
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...51342ba7691f29

Approx 35' AGL
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...513484d8b39927

I posted the 10" AGL for one reason, that being, in reality , the antenna at 10' is picking up channels more like the 35' plot.
Surprisingly, it is starting to pick up the Southbend channels WSBT and WNDU. They are pixelated and basically unwatchable, but I am really curious what will happen when the antenna is way up on the roof peak of the second story.

Since the weather is lousy I am going to attempt an attic mount for now and see how that works.

Doing so will add probably at least 50 foot of RG6 to the run , since the attic lead runs to the basement to the service equipment area and then branches out to the TV locations.
We only use 1 TV, so there will just be a simple coax coupler in the basement.

Does anybody foresee any issues with a coax run of 50 to 70 foot?
HoosierDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-Jan-2016, 4:35 PM   #2
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,538
Your tvfool report assumes an antenna with 0 dB gain outside and in the clear. It doesn't take into consideration building loss for an indoor or attic location, or loss from trees or other buildings in the signal path. The gain of your antenna can be added to the NM figure on your report to make it more positive.

Quote:
I posted the 10" AGL for one reason, that being, in reality , the antenna at 10' is picking up channels more like the 35' plot.
As long as there sufficient signal strength for the tuner to lock on to the signal, you will not see a difference on the screen.
Quote:
Does anybody foresee any issues with a coax run of 50 to 70 foot?
Let the signal strength meter on your TV be your guide. You will soon find out how weak a signal can be and still be received.

For an attic antenna, you can always add a preamp near the antenna or a distribution amp further downstream.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 25-Jan-2016 at 4:42 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jan-2016, 11:17 PM   #3
HoosierDaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Thanks Rabbit73.

I'll continue to iron the bugs out as I encounter them. This forum seems to be an incredible resource thus far.

My only remaining concern is getting FM to my stereo receiver. The typical vinyl FM cable antenna has proven worthless and unsightly.
I need to go over to FM fool and do my homework. Maybe start a thread there if needed.
Might be as simple as buying a decent radio antenna ...
HoosierDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jan-2016, 1:22 AM   #4
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Quote:
Maybe start a thread there if needed.
There is "here".

Order one of these and use it to tap off FM from the C2V's signal first. Even though the VHF element is a bit short for best FM performance, it does remarkably well.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...HLSJ%29&q=hlsj

You can use a standard splitter for testing if you happen to have one, but the HLSJ is a more effective choice.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Feb-2016, 3:29 PM   #5
HoosierDaddy
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
There is "here".

Order one of these and use it to tap off FM from the C2V's signal first. Even though the VHF element is a bit short for best FM performance, it does remarkably well.

http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp...HLSJ%29&q=hlsj

You can use a standard splitter for testing if you happen to have one, but the HLSJ is a more effective choice.
That is excellent! Thanks!
HoosierDaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 2:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC