TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 21-Jun-2015, 5:42 PM   #1
mikelessard
No Pixels at All
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 41
Anyone having trouble with CW 69 (WUPA) in Atlanta?

Anyone having trouble getting CW 69 (WUPA) in Atlanta?
mikelessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-Jun-2015, 7:24 PM   #2
mikelessard
No Pixels at All
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 41
Checked with two other OTA folks and no one else can get it either. They must be having technical issues. Anyone know what's up with them?

Last edited by mikelessard; 22-Jun-2015 at 1:30 AM.
mikelessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 1:11 AM   #3
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 141
I asked about WUPA on another TV forum. I am not getting in in Acworth and neither was another poster. Someone in Marietta was picking it up and someone near PDK airport was picking it up but getting a lot of pixellation. Sounds like they may have had a technical problem and are operating at low power for now. If I get a chance tomorrow I will call the station engineer and ask.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 1:25 AM   #4
mikelessard
No Pixels at All
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 41
Thanks Tim. I have a mid sized antenna in Cumming and it's out more than it's in - not watchable. Usually my 4th strongest station after 8, 5, and 2. Glad it's not my equipment! What other forums do you go on?

Last edited by mikelessard; 22-Jun-2015 at 1:30 AM.
mikelessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 11:36 AM   #5
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,207
There is talk about it on the AVS Local HDTV Info and Reception > Atlanta, GA - OTA thread, page 113.

http://www.avsforum.com/forum/45-loc...a-ota-113.html
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 22-Jun-2015 at 11:42 AM.
rabbit73 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 2:04 PM   #6
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 141
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikelessard View Post
Thanks Tim. I have a mid sized antenna in Cumming and it's out more than it's in - not watchable. Usually my 4th strongest station after 8, 5, and 2. Glad it's not my equipment! What other forums do you go on?
At AVS dot net I follow the [HDTV > Local HDTV Info and Reception > Atlanta, GA] and the [HDTV > HDTV Technical] forums.

At radiodiscussions dot com I follow the [Top 20 US Radio Markets > Atlanta] forum.

Hopefully 69 will be back full power soon. I have been enjoying the Decades network programming.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 2:24 PM   #7
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 141
I attempted to contact the station engineer this morning and left a voice mail. The receptionist did say they were aware of the problem and working on it but she was unaware of any specifics.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-Jun-2015, 4:16 PM   #8
mikelessard
No Pixels at All
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 41
The chief engineer chimed in on my Facebook post and said they were working on a problem with the antenna system and will be running in low power mode until it's fixed. Said it could take up to 10 days to resolve.
mikelessard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC