TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 28-Dec-2015, 9:14 PM   #1
futrader8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Shared grounding block

I have DirecTV as well as an OTA antenna. The cable from my Directv dish passes through a cable terminal box on the outside of my house where it is attached to a 4 port ground block before entering the house. I would like the cable from my OTA antenna to pass through the same terminal box before entering the house. Can I attach the OTA to the same (4-port) ground block that the Directv uses or will this cause some sort of interference for the Directv and/or the OTA? Keep in mind that the Directv and OTA are all on separate coaxial cable, I just want them to (hopefully) share the same ground block.
futrader8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-Dec-2015, 1:46 AM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
I see no reason not to use the same grounding block for the respective coax cables, assuming the block is properly grounded and that each mast is also properly grounded.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2015, 2:10 PM   #3
rickbb
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 319
As long as it's a ground block and not a splitter should not be a problem.

You said it's a 4 port, does it have 4 input and 4 output connections?
rickbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2015, 2:43 PM   #4
futrader8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickbb View Post
As long as it's a ground block and not a splitter should not be a problem.

You said it's a 4 port, does it have 4 input and 4 output connections?
Yes, it's definitely a ground block....4 in/out ports.
futrader8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-Dec-2015, 3:20 PM   #5
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,932
Many splitters (as well as other passive and active distribution devices) also have grounding lugs. Those can be substituted for a dedicated grounding block provided they are properly installed and the rest of the grounding scheme is properly executed.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 4:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC