TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 26-Dec-2012, 6:46 PM   #1
ny1329

OTA in north Phoenix

Hi all,

I'm new to the this thread and to the Phoenix area. I am trying to set up an OTA in my attic because my HOA won't allow an antenna visible on the roof. My information is as follows:

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...cc49541e5307c4

I have an antenna run that is approx 30 feet which I can connect to a 4 Way splitter that was set up by the builder. I do have a tile roof and I'm thinking about solar in the future.

So my questions are best option for an attic antenna (I was thinking the RCA ANT751R or Antennas Direct C2-V-CJM ClearStream 2-V Long Range)? Do I need a preamp? Any other ideas? Thanks in advance and let me know if any more information would be helpful.

Kurt
ny1329 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-Dec-2012, 9:12 PM   #2
teleview

Attics Are Not a reception friendly environment and Never Will be a reception friendly environment.

Here is the Federal Antenna Law that says Yes you can install antennas above the roof.
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html.

HOAs / Asho , housing coven-nuts , dead restricted housing , and etc. are well aware of the Federal Antenna Law.

Some keep their mouth shut about the law , Some straight out Lie and say there is no law , and some will say the Truth about the Federal Antenna Law that says Yes you can install and use Broadcast Tv antennas of Any Size for Digital Broadcast Tv Reception so as to have - Reliable - Reception.

Above the roof in such a manner that the roof and the house are not blocking reception to the , south east.

Install a Winegard HD7694P antenna aimed at about 166 degree magnetic compass direction.
Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Here is a antenna mount that works well with tile roofs because it installs up high at the peak of the roof eave.