TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 2-Aug-2014, 7:54 PM   #1
sd121

Can't see the Forest from the trees

Thank you one and all for the help you give. It's a great service.

I am new to this technical area and would appreciate any help that I can get answering following two questions.

I am in a forested area (http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c64db921d1fb or http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...e1c65eb4d1087c). Before the digital change with a roof mounted antenna I was able to get a few OTA stations. To accommodate the change to digital I need to update things which I am willing to do if I can use OTA broadcasting. My concern is if being basically in a forest (trees are 50 to 100+ feet high) with the digital sensitivity to line of sight will prevent me from being able to get any reception (roof mount antenna is assumed). I do have an oscilloscope if there is any way to use it for measuring the signal strength.

The second question, if the signal strength should be ok, what would be a good hardware set-up to use.

Thanks again for filling the information void in this area.

Last edited by sd121; 3-Aug-2014 at 12:11 AM. Reason: added 2nd signal report
sd121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3-Aug-2014, 12:02 AM   #2
teleview

+=>

The reception signal strengths of many of the Tv Stations are Strong to Moderate Signal Strengths.

And are LOS=Line Of Sight.

Most of the Tv stations are fairly close at about 50 miles.

----------------

As a Test of reception.

install a ,

http://www.antennacraft.net.

HD850 antenna.

Above the Peak of the Roof.

Aimed at about 240 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Use a Real and Actual magnetic compass to aim antennas , do not trust a , cell phone , tablet and etc. compass.

As always , the antenna aim direction and antenna location can be adjusted for best reception.