TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 4-Oct-2011, 7:49 PM   #1
jeffj318

Question North East, MD Question

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...60b56d0779da09

Here is the radar I came up with. I am new to this and want to stop paying Directv money each month. My wife and I watch So You Think You Can Dance, Jeopardy and shows that are on regular over the air channels. Baltimore and Philly are about 50 miles from where we live if that helps. I do see WBAL, WJZ, WMPT, WMAR along with WBFF (very much needed for her show ).

Do I need an outside antenna or can I use an inside one? There is plenty of attic space or can one only connected to the TV work?

Thanks,
Jeff
jeffj318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Oct-2011, 8:15 PM   #2
GroundUrMast

Are you already 'testing' reception with an indoor antenna? If so, are you seeing all the stations you care about, reliably?

Based on the numbers in your report, I would opt for a large antenna installed outdoors.

Do you want full or nearly full converge of both Baltimore and Philadelphia stations? To do so would require a rotator or two antennas with A/B switching. Rotators are usually best suited to serving only one TV... viewers at additional sets will often want the antenna aimed some other direction.

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4-Oct-2011, 10:59 PM   #3
jeffj318

North East

No .... no inside antenna. Still have Directv. Might call them and threaten to terminate due to finances, etc. and see what they come up with. I can do $30, but would prefer to do nothing.
Old 4-Oct-2011, 11:43 PM   #4
Tower Guy

Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffj318 View Post
Do I need an outside antenna or can I use an inside one? There is plenty of attic space or can one only connected to the TV work?

Thanks,
Jeff