TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 5-Jan-2016, 12:38 AM   #1
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Smile Help with reception loss with splitter (Antennae Direct DB4e)

My TVFool Report:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97d59f373632b

I have purchased and attic mounted an Antennae Direct DB4e. I have two tvs. When did initial testing, cable direct from antennae to one tv, signal strengths for Toronto stns @ 98%, Buffalo WNED Ch 43 (PBS) and WUTV Ch 14 (Fox) area 55% - all very clear and would be happy with this reception.

Problem occurred when then set up with 2 way splitter to view on both tvs. Toronto stns maintained 98% strength yet WNED Ch 43 (PBS) and WUTV Ch 14 (Fox) dropped to approx. 25% and I lost reception.

I'm looking at the following amplifier ....if that's a solve:
CHANNEL MASTER 2-PORT ULTRA MINI 2 DISTRIBUTION AMPLIFIER
http://www.channelmaster.com/Antenna..._p/cm-3412.htm

Question - am I on the right track? Any other suggestions re: recovering the Buffalo stns?
Thanks
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 11:32 AM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
How close to the antenna are you able to mount the amp?
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 11:39 AM   #3
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Quite close, within 2- 4 feet. To confirm - would I need a power source for the amp and / or can I use a "power inserter"?
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 11:49 AM   #4
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709


Quote:
can I use a "power inserter"?
yes



__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 5-Jan-2016 at 11:55 AM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 11:54 AM   #5
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Thanks so much rabbit73 for the detailed information. Appreciate the images to complete my "project". Quite satisfied when returned my cable equipment to provider yesterday
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 12:05 PM   #6
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
If you are going to split in the attic, use the 3412. If you are going to split down below after the power inserter, consider the 3410 which has a little more gain but only one output.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 12:24 PM   #7
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
So is it optimal to to split as close to antennae as possible? I have 2 tv's so limited to the 3410. thanks
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 1:34 PM   #8
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,709
Sorry, didn't mean to confuse you with too much information.

Either the 3410 or 3412 amp will work for you if you split down below, and you can split in either place. There is no advantage to splitting near the antenna after the amp, except for the convenience of coax runs.

The closer the amp is to the antenna the better the results, because the coax loss between the antenna and the amp input subtracts from the antenna gain.



Using a preamp with an indoor antenna can receive signals that are about 5 dB weaker than without a preamp, and the signals are made stronger for distribution, which is the part you need.
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 5-Jan-2016 at 1:48 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 2:24 PM   #9
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,942
The 3410 and 3412 have the same gain (it's the same amplifier inside all the CM34XX amps). The difference in published gain is due to the insertion loss of the internal splitter which is then subtracted from the gain of the amp for those models with an integral splitter.

Quote:
There is no advantage to splitting near the antenna after the amp, except for the convenience of coax runs.

The closer the amp is to the antenna the better the results, because the coax loss between the antenna and the amp input subtracts from the antenna gain.
These two factors are key to your making your decision.

Selecting the distribution amp with the internal splitter does simplify your cabling and makes long term reliability a little (very little, if done properly) more likely as compared to using the external splitter.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5-Jan-2016, 2:34 PM   #10
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
thanks, I will review and "digest" your latest image! Very much appreciate the support.
Joe
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jan-2016, 12:55 AM   #11
JRWNewTO
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Toronto
Posts: 8
Thanks again to the support. Antennae set up in attic with the Channel Master amp + power inserter set up. Pulling in all LOS stns + others, 23 total. I aimed more to Buffalo and this allowed for add'l channels without loss of Toronto stns.
I just wish I did this years and many cable bills ago!
JRWNewTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC