TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-Mar-2015, 4:49 PM   #1
johnnyneedlez11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Missing one station

Hello All,

I'm brand new to the site and to OTA programming. I just moved into my new home and refuse to pay those ridiculous cable prices. Anyway, I just installed an RCA ANT751 on the roof, broke out the compass and pointed the antenna to 174deg. My overall reception is great, and I'm getting all of the channels I would expect except one. The one that I really want is FOX which is broadcasting on RF 7. I understand this is a VHF freq and I would think that I might need a dedicated VHF antenna. The only problem with that is that I am current getting RF 6 CBS and it is crystal clear. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Oh and the antenna is directly feeding one TV currently with about 50' of RG6. I may add a splitter in the future.'

Thanks again!

Roof Level Approx 15' AGL
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f05fb0ff6094

25' AGL
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f07138c87a06

40' AGL
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...f1f0ac72f4057c
johnnyneedlez11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Mar-2015, 8:36 PM   #2
Tim
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 272
Have you tried tweaking the antenna a few degrees in either direction? I have one 2 edge signal that is actually received best about 10 degrees off the compass bearing of the transmitter tower.
Tim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Mar-2015, 9:26 PM   #3
Tower Guy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Delmar, NY
Posts: 1,225
I'd be considering interference such as FM overload of your TV set. WEXT on 97.7 is 1.8 miles from you on the WYPX tower.

Try a 6 db attenuator before you buy a bigger antenna.
If that does help, unplug everything in your house except your TV set , switch off all unnecessary breakers at the panel and rescan again.
Tower Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Mar-2015, 11:21 PM   #4
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Yes, try tweaking aim & height (up "or" down) a few inches. The antenna may be in a dead zone for Fox.

How far is the antenna above the roofline?
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Mar-2015, 12:03 AM   #5
johnnyneedlez11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks for the suggestions guys. I have tried to move the antenna a bit, not more than a few degrees horizontally but I will try a few more aggressive adjustments and see if that helps.

It didn't even cross my mind to look at the FM band Tower Guy. I will give the attenuator a shot as well.

The antenna is not far above the roof line, 12" at best. I am limited to the J pipe that came with the antenna right now and I didn't want to screw it through the shingles so I fastened it to the fascia instead. I did forget to mention that I do have some trees in the way as well across my street, I'm sure that's not helping either.
johnnyneedlez11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Mar-2015, 12:58 AM   #6
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Is Fox intermittent or completely missing?

Do you have an alarm with wireless transmitters?

I tried helping someone with a mysterious strong channel 7 issue a while back & we never solved it. Channels 8,9,11,12 & 13 were fine. I still think the wireless sending units for his home alarm were the culprit. Channel 7 only came in with the antenna placed at a far corner of the yard. There was something in that house that created intermittent interference that switched on, then off every 2 seconds.
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Mar-2015, 10:30 AM   #7
johnnyneedlez11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
I don't have a home alarm system so that rules that out.

I had a small amplified set top antenna and that was receiving fox for a while until it finally just stopped last weekend. I haven't even had a blip since then.

I naturally figured that the outdoor antenna would do the trick. I'm on the road for work until tomorrow but I am going to start hunting for interference when i get back. Reminds me of a time when my mother had an intermittent wireless internet issue a while back, turned out that every time someone called or picked up the cordless phone that would knock out the wireless. Both were the 2.4 GHz.
johnnyneedlez11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Mar-2015, 10:43 AM   #8
No static at all
Senior Member
 
No static at all's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chantilly, VA
Posts: 547
Have you ever tried re-scanning channels on the TV since installing the antenna?
No static at all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Mar-2015, 10:45 AM   #9
johnnyneedlez11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 4
Yes. Every time I repositioned the antenna I did a rescan.
johnnyneedlez11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 4:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC