TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-Jul-2012, 8:16 PM   #1
fgth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Digital OTA TV in Fremont Mission Hill area

Hello,

My setup has once worked in Cary North Carolina, and now it does not here in Fremont California.
I am puzzled to see if I am in a shadow or what else...

Setup is:
EZ HD Antenna: http://www.dennysantennaservice.com/...v_Antenna.html
Connected to an Hauppauge WinTV-HVR-1600 card.
The antenna is not yet on a pole, but it's still point toward San Francisco peninsula. If not perfect, I should still catch a few channel, just to have a clue I am on the right track before I set up a pole, etc.

The issue is that I get nothing, not even a hint of low signal.
I've tried to change cable, connector (75-300 Ohm converter), changing the PC card slot, but no luck.

Any other folks in the area? Any tip?

Thanks!

I need to get ready for the Olympics!

Francois
fgth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jul-2012, 8:41 PM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,681
Please post a link to your TV Fool reception report.

http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=4

Be sure to use the proposed mounting height of your antenna.

Do you have any other digital (ATSC) TV to test with?
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')

Last edited by GroundUrMast; 10-Jul-2012 at 10:20 PM. Reason: Test TV question
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Jul-2012, 11:54 PM   #3
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
->ALL<- Questions and Answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

Do as the other question askers do and Do This ->http://forum.tvfool.com/showthread.php?t=4.

Make a tvfool radar plot report , use the Exact address of your location.

Make the antenna height 25 feet.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jul-2012, 12:19 AM   #4
fgth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Here is my report

http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...9900442081ade6

25ft pool, that's excluding the house height?
fgth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jul-2012, 1:11 AM   #5
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,681
Antenna height is referenced to ground level. TV Fool has no means to consider the buildings or vegetation.

The signal strength shown in your reports indicates an antenna made from a paper clip should receive dozens of signals.

Try connecting your antenna to a working TV that's configured to receive OTA signals.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jul-2012, 1:25 AM   #6
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
->ALL<- Questions and Answers about Broadcast Tv Reception and More.

The Tv transmissions VERY STRONG at your location.

Aim the antenna at about 286 degree magnetic compass.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

The Tv/s MUST SCAN for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes named the 'Air Channels' or 'Antenna Channels' in the Tv setup menu because the Tv transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

Connect the antenna and coax to a Tv that has a broadcast tv digital tuner.

Do Not have the Pc and etc. connected.

Getting reception now??

DO NOT scan for cable tv channels.

Last edited by Electron; 11-Jul-2012 at 10:31 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-Jul-2012, 5:36 AM   #7
fgth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Good idea about a simple receiver (TV) for testing. Simple and obvious after all!
Excellent, I will post results soon...
fgth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Jul-2012, 8:16 PM   #8
fgth
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 4
Hello,

Setting up a TV receiver did work.
Got to see why this Hauppauge PC card does not work anymore...

Got some 50 channels, and I am aiming at 293 degrees. Many not listed on TVFool. Like that tons of 1.x channels.

The antenna is now in the attic (at some 30 feet), sitting on a bag of paper, the roof is made of concrete tiles, and the exterior is stucco. Setting it up outside is not easy story. I will see...

Thanks everyone!

Francois

Last edited by fgth; 12-Jul-2012 at 8:54 PM. Reason: change on status
fgth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Jul-2012, 8:48 PM   #9
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,681
The tile roof and stucco are both known to attenuate TV and radio signals. Try the antenna outside. 6' or more above ground, as a test. Do you have a chimney? If so, they often make excellent antenna mounts. If not, eave and wall brakets are an option.

http://www.3starinc.com/roof_mounts.html
http://www.3starinc.com/wall_mounts.html
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
fremont, hauppauge, hdtv, ota, san francisco

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC