TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Old 12-Jul-2011, 11:53 AM   #1
dprljackson

Antenna grounding questions

I'm a newbie who just installed an outdoor antenna (HBU33), which is currently not grounded. So the first question is how dangerous is it to have an ungrounded antenna? I'm planning on grounding it soon but is it absolutely essential that I do this as soon as possible, or is it fine to do it sometime in the next few weeks?

I think I understand the basics of grounding this antenna, but perhaps someone can correct me if I'm wrong. Connect a ground wire (#6 copper) to the mast, run this to a coax grounding block as close as possible to where the coax enters the house. Then run the ground wire in a straight-as-possible line to the house ground.

While this sounds reasonable, running the ground wire all the way to the house ground is not going to be the easiest job in the world. It won't be all that tough, but I had a thought that would really simplify things. I have solar panels attached to the roof of the house. Presumably, these are grounded to house ground. So my second question is, assuming the solar panels are properly grounded, can I simply run the ground wire from the antenna to the chassis of the solar panels? This would be incredibly easy.

Are there any dangers associated with such an approach? It seems like it accomplishes the same thing as running the ground wire all the way to house ground.
dprljackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-Jul-2011, 2:40 PM   #2
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp

Per 2008 NEC Art 810, a #10 copper wire (or permissible alternative) should be run from the mast in as straight a run as practical to the home's ground electrode system (GES). A separate permissible ground wire should be run from a coaxial mounting block (located at or near the cable's point of entry) to the same GES. Connecting to your solar array does not satisfy code requirements.