TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 26-Jul-2013, 10:34 PM   #1
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
50+ miles from broadcasting stations, antenna selection

Hello everyone. I live about 53 miles from the stations I am trying to pick up. I was able to pick up a few with a UHF loop + VHF dipole, but only at night at one instance. I am looking to get another antenna. I plan to put it on the balcony, or right inside by the glass/screen door, which faces NE. I am also above ground, which may help.



I am considering the Eagle Aspen EASDTV2BUHF antenna (do I need an amplifier if I go with this? I was looking at the RCA TVPRAMP1R as a option, if necessary), but have also looked at the Terk HDTVa, Mohu Leaf Ultimate, and RCA ANT 751R. The Eagle Aspen looks great for my purposes since every channel I am looking for is UHF, but I figured I would ask those with more experience than myself.

Thanks!
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jul-2013, 3:42 AM   #2
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
The 2-bay panel antennas may work, but I would have no guilt using a larger antenna... Even an 8-bay such as the Antennas Direct DB8e or Channel Master CM-4228 would not be over-kill IMO.

The higher up you go, the better your chances of be successful with a smaller antenna.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-Jul-2013, 9:33 PM   #3
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Install a Channel Master CM4228HD antenna aimed at about 20 degree magnetic compass direction.

Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Here are some places to buy antennas and etc. .

http://www.solidsignal.com.

http://www.amazon.com.

http://www.channelmasterstore.com.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 2:04 AM   #4
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
4 bay?

I am one story up. What about a 4 bay antenna like the channel master 4221HD? The 8 bay ones are a bit large...though I guess I could put it on the balcony (saw someone on YouTube do this). If I can get by with the 4 bay, I thought I would try it first. Just wondering others' thoughts.

Should I use an amplifier too?

Last edited by l37; 28-Jul-2013 at 2:08 AM.
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 3:55 AM   #5
Billiam
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 374
A 4221 pointed at all those stations at 50 degrees should obtain every signal in Yellow plus the one in Green since it is fairly strong even if you are off axis with your placement. A pre amp should help too. I used one in a similar situation. One station on CH. 19 in green and the rest in yellow and red. Worked fine even with much larger antennas.
Billiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 7:59 PM   #6
teleview
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Research shows that.

The 20 degree magnetic compass direction is a in between aim direction.

WSPY , http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/WSPY-CD.

WSPY , is at 341 degree magnetic compass direction.

And the main group of Tv stations is at 52 degree magnetic compass direction.

20 degree magnetic compass direction is a in between aim direction for reception of both directions locations.

As always, the starting antenna aim direction is the --> starting antenna aim direction.

Antenna aim direction can be adjusted for best reception.

Most Digital Tv's have a Signal Strength Meter and some Digital Tv's also have a signal Quality Meter.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28-Jul-2013, 9:47 PM   #7
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
If considering a 4-bay, My experience with the Antennas Direct DB4e has been quite positive. It beats the older competing designs which were engineered to cover channels no longer used for OTA TV broadcasting. By engineering the DB4e to focus on real channels 14 through 51, AD was able to squeeze some additional gain out of the antenna.

That said, if you already own a CM-4221 or other 4-bay... give it a try.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jul-2013, 4:39 AM   #8
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by GroundUrMast View Post
If considering a 4-bay, My experience with the Antennas Direct DB4e has been quite positive. It beats the older competing designs which were engineered to cover channels no longer used for OTA TV broadcasting. By engineering the DB4e to focus on real channels 14 through 51, AD was able to squeeze some additional gain out of the antenna.

That said, if you already own a CM-4221 or other 4-bay... give it a try.
Should I use an amplifier with the DB4e?
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-Jul-2013, 5:38 AM   #9
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
If you are only connecting one TV with 50' or less coax... no, try this with no amplifier. An amplifier would be helpful if you need to overcome the loss in cable or splitters down stream of the amp. An amplifier does not 'pull' signal from the antenna, air or coax.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2013, 2:37 AM   #10
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Got the db4e, great antenna, I am receiving tons of channels...but for some reason I do not get 38.1 even though I theoretically should

I have a magnavox tv converter box (I still have an analog television set, will upgrade soon), and when I type 38.1, it displays something in the 60s, not sure why.
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2013, 2:44 AM   #11
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Got it! had to change the angle and do a scan again
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1-Sep-2013, 3:34 AM   #12
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,680
Thanks for the report... Enjoy!
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (If the antenna can't get the job done, an amp won't fix it.)

(Please direct account activation inquiries to 'admin')
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-Dec-2015, 3:21 AM   #13
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Thanks to all who helped. I have recently been having issues (pixelation, black screens randomly, or no channel at all sometimes) with the lower end channels (2.x, 5.x, 7.x, 9.x, and 11.x). I was considering moving over to the DB8 (not DB8e). I figured the larger surface area would improve reception. In addition, I am using a RCA preamp, which does help to some extent.

I have ordered a new coaxial cable, but still have the DB4e. Any thoughts on the DB8?
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2015, 3:27 AM   #14
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
DB8 vs DB4e

Anybody have any thoughts on this?
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2015, 12:45 PM   #15
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,740
Quote:
Originally Posted by l37 View Post
Anybody have any thoughts on this?
It depends on what you're trying to achieve, you will need to tell us.

There are situations where one will have an advantage over the other and others where one might have a distinct disadvantage to its companion. Others will simply be a toss-up where either antenna will work as well as the other.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 8-Dec-2015 at 12:50 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2015, 1:17 PM   #16
tomfoolery
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 207
How about adding another DB4e with two short coax cables and a combiner? I've been toying with that idea, as I'm getting a couple of channels I shouldn't be able to using a single antenna in my attic, though not reliably (some days perfect, others not at all), and an increase in signal strength from a second DB4e may be enough. Essentially a DB8e, but since I already own one half, I may try another, which I can also take with me when I move next year, leaving the original and all that wiring for the new owners.
tomfoolery is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2015, 5:01 PM   #17
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADTech View Post
It depends on what you're trying to achieve, you will need to tell us.

There are situations where one will have an advantage over the other and others where one might have a distinct disadvantage to its companion. Others will simply be a toss-up where either antenna will work as well as the other.
I often move my DB4e left/right 1-2 feet when I am having signal trouble. I figured that the DB8 may possibly be a better option, given the number of elements and increased area, but I am not very experienced with antennas.

I am trying to improve signal quality of the channels mentioned in post #13 (2.x, 5.x, 7.x, 11.x, 20.x). I am having particular difficulty with 2.x and 7.x, with 7.x being the one I care most about. This wasn't an issue before, except in bad weather. Now it is somewhat common.

The new coax cable has helped, but still having pixelation/random black screen issues. RCA preamp (which I have used since I got the DB4e) has FM trap on, and set to VHF/UHF combined. Changing either if these results in lost channels.

Last edited by l37; 8-Dec-2015 at 5:04 PM.
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Dec-2015, 7:03 PM   #18
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2,740
Please do a current exact location TVFool plot (use the interactive tool) and include the LINK to the plot, not an image of it. Also, provide a concise summary of how the antenna is mounted, what direction it is aimed, how it is connected, what, if anything, is in front of the antenna as well as a summary by call letters of the stations that are giving issues.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

For support and recommendations regarding our products, please contact us directly at https://www.antennasdirect.com/customer-service.html

Sorry, I'm not a mod and cannot assist with your site registration.

Last edited by ADTech; 8-Dec-2015 at 7:06 PM.
ADTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Dec-2015, 9:14 PM   #19
rabbit73
Retired A/V Tech
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: S.E. VA
Posts: 2,006


Based on your TVFOOL report image it looks like you are in Morris, IL 60450 near the Walmart Supercenter with a report something like this:
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...b97da22018ea6b

The channels for your zip code are (click on callsign for networks):

http://www.rabbitears.info/search.ph...pe=dBm&height=

and your FM signals look something like this:
http://www.fmfool.com/modeling/tmp/1...b/Radar-FM.png
Quote:
I am looking to get another antenna. I plan to put it on the balcony, or right inside by the glass/screen door, which faces NE.
Is there a metal screen or low-E glass in front of the antenna? Any trees or other buildings in the signal path from the NE?
Quote:
I am trying to improve signal quality of the channels mentioned in post #13 (2.x, 5.x, 7.x, 11.x, 20.x). I am having particular difficulty with 2.x and 7.x, with 7.x being the one I care most about. This wasn't an issue before, except in bad weather. Now it is somewhat common.
These channels?
2.x, WBBM, CBS, real channel 12
your DB4e isn't designed to get that
5.x, WMAQ, NBC, real channel 29
7.x, WLS, ABC, real channel 44
11.x, WTTW, PBS, real channel 47
20.x, WYCC, PBS, real channel 21
Attached Images
File Type: jpg l37TVFmap.JPG (126.1 KB, 1791 views)
__________________
If you can not measure it, you can not improve it.
Lord Kelvin, 1883
http://www.megalithia.com/elect/aeri...ttpoorman.html

Last edited by rabbit73; 9-Dec-2015 at 9:42 PM.
rabbit73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6-Jan-2016, 12:46 AM   #20
l37
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
Is there a metal screen or low-E glass in front of the antenna? Any trees or other buildings in the signal path from the NE?
Yes, there is a screen door and glass door in front of the antenna. This was not an issue previously when I originally posted though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rabbit73 View Post
These channels?
2.x, WBBM, CBS, real channel 12
your DB4e isn't designed to get that
5.x, WMAQ, NBC, real channel 29
7.x, WLS, ABC, real channel 44
11.x, WTTW, PBS, real channel 47
20.x, WYCC, PBS, real channel 21
Yes, those are the ones that I am having trouble with (5.X+). I am not sure if the issue is the antenna (getting bad?), or that I have too many things downstream from the antenna (RCA preamp, and Channel Master DVR+).

Given the location, should I switch over to a DB8 (not DB8e)?
l37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC