TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 7-May-2012, 3:42 AM   #1
jaysrif
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Question Cutting out Cable

Looking to stop paying for cable and get an indoor antenna. However not sure which one will work best for me.

Here is my tvfool report
http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wr...de65c587e46d75

I want to install the antenna indoors, I live in a 2 story house, have several flat screen tvs so will need more then one. I would prefer the cleanest look since these are all wall mounted but can hide it with one or two of my tv's so two options would be best for me.

Any help will be greatly appreciated!
jaysrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 4:19 AM   #2
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

How many Tv's are/will be connected?? And do the Tv's have cable wiring going to them?? The default antenna height of the tvfool radar report is 10 feet. make second tvfool radar report with antenna at 25 feet.

Last edited by Electron; 7-May-2012 at 5:46 AM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 9:34 AM   #3
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 422
I assume you are looking for an several indoor antennas to hook up to several TV sets. This may work ok if your home is wood frame with a shingle roof. I recommend that you purchase an RCA ANT1600R and move it to the sets one at a time to be sure that this, or any indoor antenna will fill your needs. Indoor reception may vary from room to room.

This antenna is flat wall mounted, and will work best if you can face it North or South to receive the stations to your North. It is bi-directional. If this antenna fails, let us know and we can design a system that you can mount in your attic and split to connect all of your sets.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 10:10 AM   #4
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 422
Also look at the Digitenna DVI-IN on their website www.digitenna.com. It can sit near your set and be directional adjusted for maximum reception. You may want to try both that and the RCA flat panel. one may work better at some of your locations and the other at other locations.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 2:57 PM   #5
jaysrif
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron View Post
How many Tv's are/will be connected?? And do the Tv's have cable wiring going to them?? The default antenna height of the tvfool radar report is 10 feet. make second tvfool radar report with antenna at 25 feet.
We have 5 digital tv's and 2 old fashioned ones. All tv's have cable wiring going to them.
jaysrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 3:00 PM   #6
jaysrif
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by signals unlimited View Post
I assume you are looking for an several indoor antennas to hook up to several TV sets. This may work ok if your home is wood frame with a shingle roof. I recommend that you purchase an RCA ANT1600R and move it to the sets one at a time to be sure that this, or any indoor antenna will fill your needs. Indoor reception may vary from room to room.

This antenna is flat wall mounted, and will work best if you can face it North or South to receive the stations to your North. It is bi-directional. If this antenna fails, let us know and we can design a system that you can mount in your attic and split to connect all of your sets.
Correct we will need antennas for all of our tv's. Our house is wood frame however we have a clay tile roof.

I will look at the RCA ANT 1600R like you recommended.
Thanks!
jaysrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 3:11 PM   #7
jaysrif
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by signals unlimited View Post
Also look at the Digitenna DVI-IN on their website www.digitenna.com. It can sit near your set and be directional adjusted for maximum reception. You may want to try both that and the RCA flat panel. one may work better at some of your locations and the other at other locations.
Thanks for the feedback however I do not see the Digitenna DVI-IN on the website.
Also is there any way to watch the bravo and style shows since most antennas dont seem to pick those up and i dont see them on the web on thier websites.
jaysrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 3:16 PM   #8
Dave Loudin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 659
Channels such as Bravo are not broadcast over-the-air. No antenna can pick up something that is not broadcasted.
Dave Loudin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 8:45 PM   #9
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

Install a Winegard HD7696P antenna above the roof aimed at about 340 degree magnetic compass.
Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html.

Install a Channel Master CM3418 distribution amplifier.

Here is a antenna mount , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , that will likely work for mounting the HD7696P antenna. http://www.ronard.com. Buy ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box or buy from ronard. Buy the ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box or buy from ronard.

Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.channelmasterstore.com , http://www.amazon.com.

Last edited by Electron; 20-May-2012 at 5:13 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 8:57 PM   #10
jaysrif
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron View Post
Install a Winegard HD7696P antenna above the roof aimed at about 340 degree magnetic compass. Here is how to aim antennas , http://www.kyes.com/antenna/pointing/pointing.html. Install a Channel Master CM3418 distribution amplifier. Here is a antenna mount , http://www.ronard.com/34424560.html , that will likely work for mounting the HD7696P antenna. http://www.ronard.com. Buy ronard antenna mounts at solidsignal by typing the word ronard in the solidsignal search box or buy from ronard. Here are places to buy antennas and etc. , http://www.solidsignal.com , http://www.winegarddirect.com , http://www.channelmasterstore.com , http://www.amazon.com.
Thanks Electron for all the information however we are only looking to use an antenna indoors so if you have any suggestions for an indoor antenna that would be great.

Thanks!
jaysrif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 9:09 PM   #11
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

Here is a example but not the only example of 75 ohm terminator that is screwed on to any unused output ports of the CM3418 , 8 way distribution amplifier. http://www.amazon.com/Type-75 Ohm-Te.../dp/B000AAN76Y.

The Tv's Must scan for the Digital Broadcast Tv Channels sometimes named the 'Antenna Channels' or 'Air Channels' in the Tv setup menu because the tV transmissions travel through the air from the transmitting antenna to the receiving antenna.

DO NOT scan for cable Tv channels.

Here is a example but not the only example of a Tv guide on the internet , http://www.zap2it.com/tv.

Last edited by Electron; 20-May-2012 at 5:14 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 9:15 PM   #12
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 422
The Digitenna can be purchased at www.cceparts.com.

I can understand if you are not up to mounting an antenna on the roof as suggested, but that or an attic installation of the antenna recommended by Electron would be more reliable and less agravation in the long run.You can hook up to the input of the first splitter in your system to feed all of your sets, or you can simply hook up the indoor antennas to all sets if you are up for that. Each one will need to be adjusted somewhat and the results will vary from room to room...If you go that route, buy one Digitenna and one RCA to see what works where.

If needed will assist you with either hook-up you choose.
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 9:39 PM   #13
signals unlimited
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: south-central PA.
Posts: 422
Correction...with the tile roof, an attic installation will not work. Sorry!
signals unlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7-May-2012, 10:12 PM   #14
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv Antennas and Tv Reception

Here are 3 simple receiver converter boxes if the older Tv's do not have ATSC Digital Tv Tuners. At http://www.walmart.com , RCA DTA800B1 , Sunkey ATB150S , Magnavox TB110MW9.

Here are receivers that will supply signal to the older Tv's , and more Alot More. http://www.channelmasterstore.com , http://www.epvision.com .

Last edited by Electron; 20-May-2012 at 5:15 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Over The Air Services > Help With Reception


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC