TV Fool  

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > General Site Feedback / Discussion

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 8-Apr-2012, 7:02 PM   #1
frank55
Junior Member
 
frank55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Antenna web?????

Hi guys,donīt know if you noticed that when you go to antenna web for pointing antenna and available channels in you area , they only give you few Chan nothing like here at fools that give you all available Chan,my question! are they misleading you cause they only want you to watch locals at your area? and donīt want you to get Chan farther away?or want you to join the TV providers?
frank55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2012, 9:02 PM   #2
Electron
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,832
Tv antennas and Tv reception

We are all aware of what is happening with antennaweb and more a lot more. There is No conspiracy with antennaweb. When tvfool is typed into the google search box , tvfool web site and other web sites pop up that deal with what you are saying. Whipping up a lather will not work here at tvfool.

Last edited by Electron; 8-Apr-2012 at 9:10 PM.
Electron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2012, 9:29 PM   #3
GroundUrMast
Moderator
 
GroundUrMast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Greater Seattle Area
Posts: 4,183
If you are pointing out the superiority of TV Fool's service, I agree.

On the days that I'm somewhat rational, I don't see many conspiracy theories lurking in the bushes.
__________________
If the well is dry and you don't see rain on the horizon, you'll need to dig the hole deeper. (A fancy pump won't make a dry hole wet.)
GroundUrMast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8-Apr-2012, 9:58 PM   #4
frank55
Junior Member
 
frank55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Electron View Post
We are all aware of what is happening with antennaweb and more a lot more. There is No conspiracy with antennaweb. When tvfool is typed into the google search box , tvfool web site and other web sites pop up that deal with what you are saying. Whipping up a lather will not work here at tvfool.
for me is conspiracy cause i get about 34 Chan with my set up that's what TV fool gets me more or less, when i type same info same antenna i get 8 Chan or so,


check this out


http://www.antennaweb.org/Stations.a...Lon=-71.142593
frank55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9-Apr-2012, 1:39 PM   #5
Dave Loudin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 659
Antenna Web is keyed to market DMAs, and will only show stations in your DMA that have a service contour that touches your county. It's just a different, simpler method to figure out what's available.

The FCC has a prediction tool that works like TVFool, but presents the results in a simpler way.
Dave Loudin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Apr-2012, 2:35 PM   #6
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,122
Antennaweb's prediction tool is:

1) Extremely conservative in the signal forecast levels.
2) Of much coarser resolution than the algorithm that TVFool uses.
3) Geared towards the consumer and the simplified CEA color coding scheme for antennas.

Antennaweb and TVFool are different tools intended toward different audiences. Any suggestion that it's a "conspiracy" would be born out of ignorance of how the processes work and the purposes of the tools.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support

Last edited by ADTech; 10-Apr-2012 at 2:52 PM.
ADTech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-Apr-2012, 6:38 PM   #7
frank55
Junior Member
 
frank55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 10
I don't know who has more ignorance!
i think the ignorants are those that believe that this is the way to inform people of a wide range of available options, instead of protecting a few local stations and providers.
I use to believe antenna web for many years that i only could get 8 stations.
frank55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-Jun-2012, 9:40 AM   #8
Blackbeen
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 28
I prefer http://www.antennapoint.com/ over web for this reason.
Blackbeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jun-2012, 2:43 PM   #9
ADTech
Antennas Direct Tech Supp
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,122
Please note that the purpose of our Antennapoint web site is specifically for that one purpose. It doesn't attempt to analyze signal paths or do anything more complicated than checking distances when it makes antenna suggestions.
__________________
Antennas Direct Tech Support
ADTech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-Jun-2012, 5:10 PM   #10
Dave Loudin
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: King George, VA
Posts: 659
ADTech, I found outdated information concerning two stations in the DC area (transmitter powers incorrect for WJLA and WUSA.) Of course I don't know how or how often FCC data is pulled in, but something is not quire right. Of course, power isn't that important if only distance is used for further processing.
Dave Loudin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Go Back   TV Fool > Special Forums > General Site Feedback / Discussion


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off




All times are GMT. The time now is 1:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright © TV Fool, LLC