PDA

View Full Version : New to Antennas

Ezer
24-Jun-2010, 6:15 PM
Hello,

I have been reading through these forums and to be honest I am a little confused with the technical stuff. I would like to get hdtv from an antenna as I dont want to pay for cable anymore. I dont mind making an investment in a good antenna that will last me for some time. My main concern is that I do live in a homeowners association but I think I could mount a outdoor one off the roof and it not be seen from the street. Most likely I will have to do and indoor one or an attic antenna.
From my tv fool report here http://www.tvfool.com/?option=com_wrapper&Itemid=29&q=id%3d9fbeb3d90ac9aa It seems I can have an indoor and get hdtv channels like fox abc nbc and cbs. Is that correct or do I need to get the channels in the red zone for that.
I am sorry I am not very technical person and never had an antenna before, but I would appreciate any help at all.

thank you.

Dave Loudin
24-Jun-2010, 8:14 PM
Figuring out what type of antenna you need is really not hard once you know what information you need to look for and what advertising claims are just empty words. ;) The good news is you've got the tool (your TVFool report) that shows in detail what your antenna requirements are.

You supplied your location and a projected antenna height (in this case, looks like the default 10 feet). What the report gives you is:

1) what channels your stations broadcast on (the "real channel" column),
2) how strong those stations are with respect to the minimum needed for reception (the NM column), and
3) what direction(s) the stations are coming from.

Two good pieces of good news make your situation pretty easy to deal with. First, all the stations that are practical to pick up come from one direction. Second, all the Network and Independent stations you would want have noise margins over +40dB (trust me, that's a lot!). It is likely that you could use an indoor antenna and the Terk HDTVi would be the best.